Welding a Yanmar block. HELP

/ Welding a Yanmar block. HELP #1  

davecharles

Bronze Member
Tractor
Yanmar 2220D Yanmar 240D
I'm in the middle of a complete overhaul on my YM240 Yanmar. I was cleaning the block getting ready to install new liners, pistons, rings etc when I found a crack in the block (water jacket) below the water inlet. The horizontal crack is about 3 to 4 inches long. I know to drill the ends of the crack and clean out the crack. I need to know who has successfully welded an old Yanmar block. I have a mig welder with 75/25 gas or 100% helium. What wire is best on the iron? Any tips would be greatly appreciated. I am a novice welder. If it is too difficult to weld I can take it to my local machine shop.
Dave

/ Welding a Yanmar block. HELP #2  
Take it to a machine shop that has experience with cast iron repairs.

/ Welding a Yanmar block. HELP #4  
If you are not willing to pay a pro then drilling holes at each end of the crack to keep the crack from spreading and then brazing it is the surest and safest repair by a novice for most cast irons. That said, if the repair is more structural in nature to the engine block then I might rethink brazing, but brazing is stronger than most give it credit for. Simple non-structural water jacket no problem.

Drilling the holes at each crack end and then using an acetylene torch and appropriate cast filler rod can also be done but it takes skill.

Lock stitch is also good but can be pricey.

Arc welding on cast can be a big mistake if done wrong especially on something that has to expand and contract with temperature changes like an engine block has to. If this was a $10 part then I might risk some less than recommended repairs but an expensive engine block then I would limit my risks for things to go awry and use the best method that I could for the crack type - especially on an engine that I was rebuilding.

/ Welding a Yanmar block. HELP #5