Advice on welding link repair

/ Advice on welding link repair #1  

HCJtractor

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota M6800, Massey Ferguson 240
Broke the ball link on my telescopic stabilizer. I found a weldable link at tractor supply that matches. I ground out the broken area and fitted the new one. Being a rookie welder, I'm reluctant to go further. But I would rather repair it myself than take it to a professional. Please advise me. This new link is forged. Should I bevel this out more to get access to the deeper surfaces? Pre heat the parts? What welder, stick or MIG. I'm assuming stick and thought about 7018. What would you experts do? I'm trying to learn and improve my skills. And this part is not a critical one.

image-2114241716.jpg

image-3041564252.jpg

image-3810933798.jpg

image-2742140097.jpg

image-3272860222.jpg

/ Advice on welding link repair #2  
No expert here:eek:! But what I would do is grind off the paint on the eye. Put 4 tacks on the new eye. Preheat to a couple hundred degrees. Weld it all the way around with either 7018, or Lincoln's L-56 Mig wire. Place the eye end in a bucket, and cover with sand, until cold / over night.

/ Advice on welding link repair
Thanks Shield Arc. You're no expert? Right. I've seen your work. So other than the paint, is my prep work enough? I'm assuming the weld won't go deeply in the gap. So the surface weld all the way around is sufficient? Dumb question, but will preheating draw the molten puddle into the gap?

/ Advice on welding link repair #4  
Your prep work looks real good:thumbsup:. I really like how the new eye is inserted into the bar! If I had to suggest one thing. Is to put a bevel all the way around on your bar. A bevel will ensure more penetration!

Preheating is just to remove the moisture in the iron. Preheat is important, but so is a slow cool down post weld.