Can I repair bush hog sheet metal with stick welder?

/ Can I repair bush hog sheet metal with stick welder? #1  

BeezFun

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota B2710
I've got an old ford bush hog, the sheet metal is rusted through around edges but gearbox and structure is in good shape, so I'd like to try to repair it. I'll be cutting out and replacing the 20ga sheet metal with patches. Then I have to weld the new 20ga patch material to angles and brackets that range from 1/8" to 3/16" thick. So the big problem is welding thin material (20ga) to thicker material (1/4"-3/16"). I'm a pretty good stick welder, a really good gas welder, but don't do mig, and I'm trying to decide if this is doable. I'd probably go through a tank of gas trying to get this thing hot enough, and it would be tough to avoid burn through, so that probably won't work. Is it possible to stick weld these two materials? I generally use 1/8" 6010 to tack everything, then 1/8" 7018 to run the bead on thicker material. What would I use for this if it's doable?
tnx

/ Can I repair bush hog sheet metal with stick welder? #2  
I've got an old ford bush hog, the sheet metal is rusted through around edges but gearbox and structure is in good shape, so I'd like to try to repair it. I'll be cutting out and replacing the 20ga sheet metal with patches. Then I have to weld the new 20ga patch material to angles and brackets that range from 1/8" to 3/16" thick. So the big problem is welding thin material (20ga) to thicker material (1/4"-3/16"). I'm a pretty good stick welder, a really good gas welder, but don't do mig, and I'm trying to decide if this is doable. I'd probably go through a tank of gas trying to get this thing hot enough, and it would be tough to avoid burn through, so that probably won't work. Is it possible to stick weld these two materials? I generally use 1/8" 6010 to tack everything, then 1/8" 7018 to run the bead on thicker material. What would I use for this if it's doable?
tnx