welders welders welders

/ welders welders welders #1  

blue9249

Tractor
1950 allis wd
ok, new guy here, i registered awhile ago but rarely post, more of a lurker if you will, soaking up information. anyhow i am looking into buying a welder, i am an aspiring agricultural diesel technician, so i wont be welding every day but weld more than the average joe, i have also taken welding classes in highschool, in this class it covered oxy- actelene welding, stick welding and mig welding, so i have some experience with multiple processes. i have mig welded more than stick but i have more confidence in my welds when stick welding, i know all to well that you can get good looking mig welds that wont even hold a mailbox on its post ( long story of an incident at work that i still get crap over lol).

to be clear this welder is not going to be for work, we have a miller mig welder that handles all the duties we need done there, this welder is going to be for home, where i will make occasional repairs and build some stuff. i am going to college in october and am entertaining the idea of building an enclosed trailer, as i am having a hard time finding a trailer that is built to the specs that i would like. after college i want the trailer to be built heavy enough to haul wood in, and all the trailers you can buy will not be built heavy enough for that, i have also thought about buying a used trailer and adding heavier axles and beefing up the frame, which would still include welding more metal in the frame.

i have noticed everlast and longevity welders sponsor this section, i am wondering if these welders are well built or if they are typical china grade welders, i have also looked into eastwood welders as well and have heard good and bad.