Convert Miller 130 to gas, and classes?

/ Convert Miller 130 to gas, and classes? #1  

RobertN

Tractor
New Holland TC40D
I got a Miller 130 from a friend. He always used flux wire. How hard is it to convert to gas, and where to get the parts to do that?

I have never welded till now. Looked locally; have not found any classes except at JC an hour away. Where's a good place to look for training? My friend I got the welder from moved from area. (I'm east of Sacramento, Ca).

/ Convert Miller 130 to gas, and classes? #2  
Can't help you with the welder. I would call Miller to see if it is even possible.
Far as instruction, nothing beats one on one instruction! Run an ad in your local Craig's list or newspaper. To see if some welder would be willing to give you some welding instruction.

/ Convert Miller 130 to gas, and classes? #3  
I have a Miller 135, it's worked flawlessly since I bought it new 12 years ago. I never used it with flux-core, I have very little experience with flux-core (gas only). It was my understanding that the previous version (130) was gas compatible. Look at the rear panel, and if there is a brass gas fitting, then it's compatible. You will then need a gas regulator, tank of 75/25 AR-CO2 and hose, and some .023 solid wire. There are hose+regulator kits too. Look at the drive spools, be sure the groove is for .023 wire - you may have to flip them around to feed .023 wire. Possibly a welder that old will need a new "liner" or other wear parts if it's been used a lot or not stored properly.

MIG Argon hose Weldcote ARG14X10 Hose, - Argon - 10 ' W/ Inert Gas Fitting - - Amazon.com
Regulator Lotos Argon CO2 Flow Meter AR03 Welding Regulator Gauge Gas Welder Regulation for Lotos MIG140, MIG175, TIG200, TIG200DC Welders - - Amazon.com
wire INEFIL ER70S-6 .023-Inch on 10-Pound Spool Carbon Steel Mig Solid Welding Wire - Arc Welding Accessories - Amazon.com