Welding in a Wooden Barn

/ Welding in a Wooden Barn #1  

MillWeld

Gold Member
Tractor
Ford 641
I have been doing it for 30+ years with no incident. The welding surface is 1/4" steel with bent up edges to keep sparks from hitting wood and there is a canvas apron covering the walls for the same purpose. Ventilation is provided by an overhead fan that draws air in thru a vent. Now I want to improve ventilation by reversing the fan, housing it in a wooden plenum chamber, attaching it to the vent and adding 3 flexible metal ducts that descend to the work surface. I want to make the chamber from wood because it easier to work than sheet metal and I have plenty of it. The chamber will be 5 feet above the work surface. Is it ill-advised to make this of wood? (I don't know why the pic is rotated - it is not on my computer.)

Attachments

• P1020179.JPG
    P1020179.JPG
    3.6 MB · Views: 490
   / Welding in a Wooden Barn #2  
It's ill-advised. A spark, a glowing particle or anything else hot combined with fast moving air and your wood structure becomes a blast furnace. With goggles or a welding helmet on, you won't realize it until its kinda too late to stop it. Find some furnace plenums or an old sand blaster top, or a garden cart to fashion the air funnel, IN METAL.

/ Welding in a Wooden Barn #3  
Lady luck has shone her face upon you. I fear it won't last forever.
I had a couple guys adding braces on a 50 x 400' metal building that had a wood front. All the door/window openings were framed in and then covered with wood siding. It gave the owner the ability to rent space in ant 1250 sq ft increments. This building was empty. Every brace was welded in and doused with water. They would quit about 5 and I would do a walk through around 7 just before I left for the day. There were nine buildings. I don't remember how many we had completed, we did not take them in order. 3:30 am one morning Building 3 went up in flames. Our water must have missed a spark.