Anybody stick weld aluminum?

/ Anybody stick weld aluminum? #1  

BKBoiss

Gold Member
Tractor
Has any one had any experience stick welding aluminum. I'm no professional by any stretch of the imagination, but I wanted to build something out of aluminum but with the price of a spool gun and gas I decided to try sticking it. It seemed to work not too bad but it was definitely very unpredictable, not at all like I'm used to welding steel.

image-1509615905.jpg

This is my "best" work. I won't show you the other side. It seemed to be determined to jerk me around.

/ Anybody stick weld aluminum? #2  
Has any one had any experience stick welding aluminum. I'm no professional by any stretch of the imagination, but I wanted to build something out of aluminum but with the price of a spool gun and gas I decided to try sticking it. It seemed to work not too bad but it was definitely very unpredictable, not at all like I'm used to welding steel.

View attachment 485851

This is my "best" work. I won't show you the other side. It seemed to be determined to jerk me around.

STICK WELDING ALUMINUM SUCKS, I DO IT TO GET CUSTOMER OUT OF A JAM UNTIL THEY CAN BRING IT TO THE SHOP TO GET TIG WELDED.

/ Anybody stick weld aluminum? #3  
After 40 years of welding as a pipefitter and nuclear certified;aluminum stick is about the most difficult there is.I very dislike welding any form of aluminum but "Tig" is about your best bet.

/ Anybody stick weld aluminum? #4  
I played with it just a little bit. I had the best luck with a little pre-heat. Boy you got to move fast! :shocked:

Attachments

• 4043.JPG
    4043.JPG
    232.4 KB · Views: 467
   / Anybody stick weld aluminum? #5