Setup for 16 Guage Mild Steel
25 Amps on Meter
15CFM on Argon

Results - A lot of burn through.

IMG_3636.jpg

Setup for 24 Guage Copper
20 Amps
15CFM

Results - Incineration. By the time I got a puddle I burned through. I tried laying some filler copper on top, see if that would help, torched right through.

IMG_3637.jpgIMG_3638.jpg

While I am a beginner, I am not sure the issue is me. Maybe 20 Amps is too much for this stuff (WOO HOO I get to buy a real tig machine) but I think not. All the charts and while none I have found mention 24 guage copper, it seems to me that I need a lot more than 20 amps to make it happen.

Looking for any and all comments.

Attachments

• IMG_3639.jpg
    IMG_3639.jpg
    61.9 KB · Views: 252
   / Tig Welding Failure, what am I doing wrong
Negative to the torch, positive to the ground. It seems to spark right.....

/ Tig Welding Failure, what am I doing wrong #4  
Did you try upping the shielding gas flow? Also make sure it's actually flowing out the torch.
Had a problem a while back that ended up being a slightly lose adaptor on the regulator, drove me nuts for awhile until I found it when I replaced the regulator.

It was actually pulling air in and contaminating the shielding gas.

/ Tig Welding Failure, what am I doing wrong #5  
My PowerArc 200ST runs about 10 to 15-amps hotter than any of my other welders. I've never been very good at welding that thin of material:eek:. There was a time in my life where I thought 3/8-inch thick metal was sheet metal:D. I think something that thin, a foot pedal would come in real handy.
Here is some Tig welds I made with my PowerArc 200ST.

Attachments

• Fillet LA on.JPG
    Fillet LA on.JPG
    125.5 KB · Views: 421
  • Lap LA off.JPG
    Lap LA off.JPG
    107.6 KB · Views: 361
Well, been doing a bit of reading. Going to try reverse polarity today. see how that works.