Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    Case 580 SE

Default Mig welding stainless to normal steel

Hello,
    Newbie here,
    I got some work lights for my backhoe and would like to MIG weld them to the roof which is "normal" steel. The brackets that came with the lights are stainless. Can I, Using "Normal" mig wire, weld the bracket on my backhoe's roof? It wouldn't really matter if the weld and/or bracket would rust. Would match the rest of the machine
    Thanks!

Tractor
    John Deere, 4200

Default Re: Mig welding stainless to normal steel

I would use 309 stainless steel wire, with helium + argon + Co2 gas mix.
    But that gas mix is costly. I would just pick up some 3/32-inch 309 stainless steel rod, and tack the lights on.

Miller Dynasty 300.
    Lincoln V350-Pro w/pulse.
    Lincoln LF-74 wire feeder.
    Lincoln SG Spool gun.

2 Lincoln LN-25.
    1937 IdealArc-300.
    Everlast PowerArc 200ST.
    3 Lincoln SA-200s.
    Vantage 400
    1800 Ellis saw.
    Hypertherm Powermax 1250, CNC table.
    PROFAX Welding Positioner.
    JD2 model 3.

Veteran Member
    Tractor
    Iseki TA 247. Husqvarna 54",Gravely Zero, Cub Zero,.Polaris 850 ATV's Stihl 018 026 Pro, 029, 034 Super AV, 039, 044 Mag. Stihl Pole Saw.

I'd say ditto to the SS stick but yes you "could" use standard mig wire but you would need to paint the welded area or take the light off and paint the whole bracket afterward.

Tractor
    Mitsubishi D1500, 1998-1/2 Dodge D2500 w/ Compound Turbo's

If you could, MIG weld you a regular bracket on your piece of equipment, then bolt the stainless steel bracket to the mild steel bracket that you've MIG welded. This way, you can always take the bolts out and go another route in the future if you wanted to, and you would only have money in a few bolts and nuts and a couple of pieces of mild steel metal that are MIG welded on. You wouldn't need to purchase any 309 SS rods or wire, or the expensive gas for the SS MIG wire.

Veteran Member
    Tractor