Need to learn more about welding

/ Need to learn more about welding #1  

BigBlue1

Veteran Member
Tractor
JD: 2520 & x758
I'm basically a novice at welding. I took a year or two of shop class in HS and learned the basics of welding but never really had an opportunity to do much with it. That was 30 years ago. I do have an old Lincoln AC arc welder that is in decent shape and does the job for me when I need to stick together non-critical joints in pieces of metal. Of all my mechanical and shop skills welding is likely one of the lesser developed, but I do know enough to not consider myself a moron.

I'd like to improve my welding skills. At present I don't want to invest in a new welder or get into other types of welding. Just want to get better with the stick welder so I can feel more comfortable about my welds being structurally sound and not looking like crap. Can someone point me in the direction of some type of book or on-line reference that can learn me a thing or two? Things like what settings to use for various types of steel and thicknesses, what type of rods to choose, how to weld inside corners, etc. I've got time this winter to research things and to play around.

Here's an example of a bracket I made for adding hydraulic dump to my leaf cart which shows my meager skillset:

20171116_113613.jpg

Thanks!
Rob

/ Need to learn more about welding #2  
Hard to beat Jody at weldingtipsandtricks.com - also check utube for Steve Beliel (not sure about spelling on last name - he also has DVD's available for stick, tig, mig, etc... Steve

/ Need to learn more about welding #3  
I was in a similar situation, there was a course offered at our local votech for a couple hundred bucks, great investment for me. I did end up spending money on a multi process Lincoln unit, but with the work I've done so far it's almost paid for itself in 1.5 years.
MT

/ Need to learn more about welding