Welding Wire Quality

/ Welding Wire Quality #1  

CharlieTR

Gold Member
Tractor
Long LongTrac
This past weekend I learned a good lesson about welding wire quality.
My local hardware store only carries Forney brand welding materials. I had a bad time with their ginding disks and was concerned about buying the flux core wire, but bought anyway. Got home started welding and could not believe the spitting and sputtering coming from this wire. What really concerned me was the color of residue. Instead of tan colored, it looked the color of gray like cigarette ashes. I am not sure if that means anything or not. I am a novice welder. I ended up taking it back and going 50 miles round trip to welding supply store. I really hope this was just one bad unit, but I will not risk buy that brand again.

/ Welding Wire Quality #2  
The quality of different welding wire, solid and flux core, has been discussed to death on both the Hobart and Miller Motorsports welding forums by the professional welders. Some machines have no preferences while others of the same brand are finicky. It's a crap shoot, machine wise. However, wire wise, most professionals agree that certain brands are much better than others and the foreign made wire is inferior to USA made wire.

In my case, both my MM175 and MM251 have had a steady diet of several hunderd pounds of Harbor Freight made in Italy wire and they both have had absolutely no problems. I have made a few destructive tests using USA and HF wire and could see no difference in the weld or penetration. As long as the solid wire meets ER 70S-6 specs it should be ok for the average hobbyist.

Miller Motersports welding forum

Hobart welding forums

/ Welding Wire Quality #3  
I had always good experience with Lincoln wire - from home depot - but the wire from TSC, whatever brand it is - seemed to be worse. The difference was mainly noticeble while doing body work (I drive 1986 CJ7 and there are rust holes in the body every year to be mended)