sc2400 won't start. . .

/ sc2400 won't start. . . #1  

beardley

Bronze Member
Tractor
NH Boomer 30
Hi Guys,

I'm new here, and I just got my first new tractor(cub sc2400). I owned an old 9n before that, so this has been a major change. I got the unit in December and it worked great until about mid January. I went out to start it one morning and it started like normal. It ran for 10 minutes warming up, I tried to move it, it stalled, and I haven't heard from it since.

I thought maybe the fuel was gelled, but I had been using the additive to prevent it, and the fuel in the sediment bowl looks clear. I removed the bowl and emptied it out, and it will fill right back up, so I don't think the fuel filter is clogged. I can't figure it out. The battery is fully charged, but it just cranks and cranks, with no sign of starting.

The only other strange thing I noticed is that I would expect some unburned fuel to come out of the exhaust, but i don't see anything.

I'm new to diesels, what am I missing? I think I'm going to have to call the dealer, but I like to fix things myself if I can.

Thanks guys for any help.

/ sc2400 won't start. . . #2  
Just because the sediment bowl is filling doesn't necessarily mean that the fuel is reaching the engine. If it's parked outside in the cold, maybe you've got gelling in the lines further up? Possibly something is wrong with the injector system?

My experience with my SC2400 is that the dealer has been wonderful about taking care of problems, no matter what they were.

I fully understand wanting to fix things myself, but this is exactly the type of thing that we've got the warranty for. At the least, I'd suggest giving the dealer's service dept. a call to see if they can talk you through the steps to diagnose the problem.