What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection

/ What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection #1  

Raised on a Deere

Gold Member
Tractor
Ford Dexta, Branson 6530c Yanmar Lx490 Power reverser
My Lx490 tractor is in Kentucky and I have no winter experience with it yet. It rarely goes much below zero but plenty of days in the teens. My tractor has no block heater of any kind but my 2003 Cummins starts unaided to well below zero. My 1994 dodge cummins had a direct injection more like what the Yanmar appears to have. The older dodge would start at zero but it has two huge batteries and they better be top of their charge.

What can I expect from the Yanmar. If one of those cold snap blizzards shows up like a few I have experienced in the past I will need the tractor for snow clearing and perhaps helping a neighbor move some firewood.

The battery looks a bit small. Should I get a stronger battery or is a block heater of some kind needed. I keep a battery minder hooked up when I am away in Alabama.

/ What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection #2  
   / What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection #3  
Use a block heater. Reduces stress and wear on all components.

/ What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection #4  
My JD Yanmar has a pretty big battery for the little engine. I have never had an issue starting it even when cold. My JD Yanmar has an intake manifold heater that works when you turn and hold the key one direction.

/ What is the cold starting like on the Yanmars with direct injection #5