Piston Inspection/Assembly/help

/ Piston Inspection/Assembly/help #1  

rancher41

Hello to all. I disassembled my Yanmar 2310 today to replace rings. The rings were bad in two of the pistons. I ridge reamed etc. and am going to be ordering parts. This is my first time at this and I would like some advice from those who have done this.

First, the sleeves look ok although I had to ream the ridges. How do I check ring gap to make sure I do not need to go ahead and replace the sleeves?

Second, two of the piston have some skoring on the sides. Do I need to replace the pistons?

Third, I am taking the head to the machine shop, what should I have them do to it?

Fourth, When I pulled the head the thid piston was at the top of its stroke, should I reassemble it this way.

fith , what is the procedure for checking the valves (after top dead center)?

Tourques:

Pistonrods?
Head bolts and sequence?
oil pan?
valve cover?

I know this is alot of questions but I sure need it to go back togheter ok and need the tractor on a daily basis.

Thanks .

Jim

/ Piston Inspection/Assembly/help #2  
the 1 st place to start would be to purchase a parts manual & or a service manual . Service manual should give you all your specs.

/ Piston Inspection/Assembly/help
Yeah I plan on ordering the manual with the parts. What about the slight scoring on the pistons?, I can upload a pic. Also is the ridge I reamed off of the top of the cylinder wall to be expected?

Jim

/ Piston Inspection/Assembly/help #4  
If you are talking about the piston skirts. I would say use them.If the piston is running up & down in a sleeve The cylinder shouldn't have a ridge.I haven't had a diesel engine apart but, I have had many gasoiline engines apart with a ridge but , the gasoline engine piston don't run in a sleeve which would cause a ridge

/ Piston Inspection/Assembly/help #5  
Jim,