Head gasket

/ Head gasket #1  

6thgpSF

Gold Member
Tractor
YM1610d bobcat 863 Gh 928d
I'm pretty good at doing my own repairs,that said I've got a head gasket coming and plan to change it on my 1610d.I've never done this before and wanted to get some input before I attempt this. I have a service manual for the 226D and I've been reading on it but on a scale of 1-10 with 1 being easy what would you rate this project.are there any other gaskets I'm going to need?also any special tools?I know I'll need a torque wrench as well as the various meteric wrenchs and sockets etc,any other tools etc.I plan on taking before pitcures to help me when I begin to put it back together also should I use new bolts. I've had a problem with the overflow bottle filling up,I've replaced all the hoses,belt and rad cap and thought I had the problem licked but like I said the bottle keeps filling up and I see bubbles so I'm down to head gasket and while i'm doing this I plan on getting the rad. coared.any input would be much appreciated. russ

/ Head gasket #2  
I would take the head to a machine shop while it is off to check for cracks and valve leakage. It would be nice if you could find an expirenced person to watch over your shoulder while doing the job. There are a lot of little things a person learns from expirenced mechanics as well as basic nut and bolt work. Wire wheeling bolt threads, chasing bolt holes, thread lubricant, torque pattern, checking for other tell tail signs of problems are all practices that come from expirence. There may be a book some where that lists all the thinigs to look at that someone else may take as a normal routine. Tear in and go for it. The next one will be easier.

Dan

/ Head gasket #3