YM186D TLB removes rock #1

/ YM186D TLB removes rock #1 #1  

MDL

Bronze Member
Tractor
Kubota BX23
Ok, yes I am admittedly a novice tractor loader backhoe operator. This being the case, it doesn't take much to excite me. That being said.......here is a quick post with pictures of the Yanmar doing it's thing hampered by my lack of operation skills!

I'll spare the tractor details as they are well documented in other posts other than saying it is a US Yanmar model YM186D tractor with a Yanmar YFL-650 loader and a Yanmar YBH-660 backhoe. I recently got the tractor back from the mechanic after admitting I was not going to make the time to perform the maintenance and repairs I wanted done. I have been busy with other things since the tractor came back so I hadn't had a chance to test it out. I have had the unit close to a year now but the backhoe broke just after I got it and has been detached and parked since.

Since I have no backhoe experience and no time on this backhoe I felt it would be wise to dig a test hole and get used to the hoe. The backhoe works well. I made a hole about two plus feet deep and around 6 foot in diameter. I then filled it back in using the loader. Although I have read about proper efficient loader technique I haven't master it yet. The backfill was much longer than it should have been. I ended up getting only partial buckets of the loss soil from the pile I had created with the backhoe and eventually ended up using the back of the bucket to pull my dirt pile back so I could keep trying to pick it up with the loader. I think the concept is to get into the pile of backfill material while tipping the bucket back and driving forward. I may not have written/said that correctly. I read and seen descriptions of proper loader use but I definately need practice!