Splitting a Yanmar 1500d???

/ Splitting a Yanmar 1500d??? #1  

gweishaar

My 1500d (1975 originally Green??) started squealing badly while working a blade on my road at my lake house. I adjusted the clutch linkage, ran for a while (less of a squeal) and then the tractor would not shift into gear from neutral (too much grinding) or out of gear while in gear (No more squealing). I adjusted the linkage to both extremes with no success. I suspect a broken throw out bearing or fork. The clutch seems stuck in place. ( I am an amatuer mechanic).

I have searched the site for info on a fix and on splitting the tractor. I found some useful info but nothing really specific to the Green 1500d. Also I found some suggestions to break a frozen clutch. This seems like it is not the problem since the tractor was shifting OK and 30 minutes later it was stuck in gear. I can shift to neutral and back into any gear when the engine is not running. Seems like a split of the tractor would be the best way to see what the problem really is.

It seems I should support the tractor and stabilize it in front so it wont turn to the left or right while supporting the engine and use a floor jack (maybe automotive on rollers) on the rear. I could use some 2 x material laid on the ground so I can roll or maybe pull with my lawn tractor the rear back while supported on the automotive jack.

If I split the tractor to find the real problem, how do I disconnect the hydraulic lines? Will I have to drain the fluid? It looks like the lines after being disconnected at the rear won't allow the tractor to be split without disconnecting the lines at the pump. The lines kinda go around the bell housing at the split. The lines seem to be connected solidly to the pump in front. Would the whole pump assembly need to be removed to allow the tractor to be split.?

I think I can handle disconnecting/connecting all the other connections (electrical, fuel, compression release, throttle, clutch linkage and etc.)