1610D front knuckle rebuild update

/ 1610D front knuckle rebuild update #1  

bobidy

Tractor
yanmar 1610D
Hi guys,

Here is an update on a prior post I made about obtaining no longer available gears and the rebuilding of the lf stub axle & pinion assembly on a 1610D I just purchased used. (not a "new" refurb) Also, let me say that I am a novice when it comes to all things 'tractor' So some of my assumptions & observations may be flat out wrong or, a--backwards. So please, feel free to educate me.

I'll break this down into 2 parts: the repair; and some questions & observations about same.

First off, I was able to obtain very good quality salvage gears and sleeves from Hoye and an offer of the same from Danny1. The rest of the parts needed including, the spindle and stub axle are availible new & were purchased from Hoye.

Total cost of parts for a rebuild of the left pumpkin/knuckle from the bevel gearcase bevel gear down, = $841.36 + shipping. w/an additional 500.00 + for service & Parts manuals, 2 frt tires, voltage regulator, valve cvr gasket, some decals and shipping. (ouch)!:eek:

The actual repair; if I did it correctly, was pretty easy. As the front drive and related components are in sections, easily accessed & can be removed and repaired one at a time.

I started from the pinion down in case I needed to shim and adjust free play as i went. only gear I found that seemed to need shimming was the final gear on the stub axle. I shimmed it to where there was a slight amount of free play between the teeth of it and those of the gear above. I'm hoping that's all that was needed? if I missed anything let me know as I have no previous experience at this.