yanmar 186d trans

/ yanmar 186d trans #1  

jerrybob

Tractor
yanmar 186D....JD LT180....DR Brush Cutter
Bought a yanmar 186d earlier this week and played with it today. Seems to have a problem with the transmission. When I put it in reverse to back out of shop.....it didn't seem to engage for serveral seconds.....then it slipped into gear. Same problem when I tried the forward gears. After it engaged....I drove it to a neighbor to do some minor work on tractor. When I tried backing out of his shop......same problem. When I went to move forward....we couldn't get it to engage at all. After trying almost every gear.....we finally got it to engage in low range/low gear. I spoke to a local yanmar tractor guy......he thinks it has the wrong fluid in trans. He recommends draining, cleaning screen and replacing fluid with JD 303. He said if I cannot get 303.....to use Dextron 3. He believes my problem will be solved with the fluid change. Any other thoughts out there? I am new to tractors so any input would be helpful. Thanks

/ yanmar 186d trans #2  
When I went to demo my YM186D it seemed slow to start off in any gear. But it engaged solidly within a reasonable time so I bought it.

After replacing the fluid and filter, it engages faster, but not quite as fast as the A/T in a car when you shift from Neutral to Drive. Yes JD303 is what Yanmar recommended 'back in the day'. Later tractor fluids include JD303 among several standards they meet. I use the inexpensive version from Autozone and I see TractorSupply gets theirs from the same source. Some here have suggested that automotive A/T fluid is better for cold climates.