Counter rotating brush hog

/ Counter rotating brush hog #1  

SteveM

Gold Member
Tractor
Kubota B7100DT
I am new to this part of tractorbynet - and I like it over here!

I currently have a 78 Kubota B6000E US model, which seems to be exactly like the 4-digit Yanmars you folks describe: 2cyl, thermo-siphon cooling, man trans, 3 spd pto, etc. I love my odd little tractor, except that it has a reverse-rotation PTO. I have a belly finish mower, but would like a brush hog. This leaves me two options:

1) Does anyone know where i could get a reverse rotation rotary mower?

2) Could I turn the cutting blade around and run a normal mower backwards?

Thanks so much for your help - my next tractor will probably be a Yanmar with a loader - if I could only find one in Upstate NY!

/ Counter rotating brush hog #2  
You might try posting on the Mitsubishi forum. The older S370 Mitsubishi Beaver also turned ccw. Seems like they have a source for implements, but I could be mistaken!

/ Counter rotating brush hog #3  
Good luck finding one . I have a Mitsubishi tractor and visit and post on the mitsubishi forum daily . I HAD an S-370 with the reverse rotation PTO and could not find a single implement that would run backwards .I ended up trading it to one of the dealers here . I have been told that Kubota made a PTO reverser that bolted on to the rear pto shaft on the back of the tractor but discontinued it because of the safety factor (PTO shield). If you are very lucky you might find one in a salvage yard some where but they are not sold through dealers any more . If you are that lucky , you better play the lottery !!!!!!! I hope you find one . There are quite a few people who have Mitsubishi's that would like one too . Might call Anna at Southern Global Tractor , she is the one who told me that such a thing exists . She thought that someone else was manufacturing one but I have not been sucessfull in finding them . Let us know if you find one . Thanks