Dirt Moving Yanmar RS1200 tiller sheetmetal vibrated off

/ Yanmar RS1200 tiller sheetmetal vibrated off #1  

pokey54

Tractor
Yanmar 1610-22 H.P. 2WD
I just joined the TractorByNet site to get some information about my tiller. I submitted a question to a subscriber and he suggested I submit my concerns to a general forum, so here I am! I am a novice when it comes to tillers. I noticed that "Flusher" has a tiller that looks just like mine. I bought it used from a guy who had several tillers for sale who said it would work perfectly for my need, but did not think to ask him what brand it was. I'm assuming that it's a Yanmar RS1200 because it's the same puke green color that "Flusher" has with the Wheel on top and a side wheel. He E-mailed me back to let me know that this particular tiller is made for rice fields, not hard Washington clay and rock ground. I have about and acre yard in Washington State to take care of. I have a Yanmar 1610 2WD-22 H.P. My first issue with the tiller was the top center linkage. The seller gave me a triangular piece with 2 points to fast a short linkage pin to. I assumed the linkage pin went into the tractor and the triangle hooked to the tiller, so that's the way I hooked it up. I couldn't loosen the jam nut on the short top linkage pin, so I couldn't get the clearance I wanted, so the first issue I had was that the sheet metal on the front of the tiller was getting beat up by the rear tires. I ended up taking a sawzall to notch out the area around the tires so I could progress work in my back yard. The next issue was the tiller was jumping all over the place, so I tried to float the tiller above all the rocks I kept finding. Then the round piece worked its way out of the holder, then the gate vibrated loose, so I used it the rest of the day without the round piece that doesn't seem to serve any purpose and the rear gate. It worked fine since I was finding so many rocks. Today, I tilled my garden and was running the tractor in compound