Ym2000 meets LW6 backhoe

/ Ym2000 meets LW6 backhoe #1  

capt1989

Tractor
Yanmar ym2000
I spent 4 days, working off and on, building a sub-frame to mount the backhoe to tractor. This is a heavy backhoe. One of the reasons it took so long is that I have a (15 months old today) grand son that demanded I spend time with him every time I went inside. I didn't mind. You grandpas and paw paws know what I am talking about. Another is that I have never built anything like this before and was taking my time, being careful, measuring 4 times, thinking to much about what I was fixing to do, then cutting once and re-thinking to much again, welding, second guessing, adding another pass with the welder etc...

I used about 20 feet of 4 inch channel for the main body of the sub-frame with a few little pieces of scrap steel I had laying around to reinforce it. Also used a couple of sections of 2 inch pipe to weld the upper part (where the top link goes) to the subframe. I was concerned about the structural integrity of the sub-frame, due to my welder, so it is built like a tank. After using it today to dig up 3 stumps, I am no longer worried if it will hold up. It is an amazingly stout design that comes off the tractor by removing 4 bolts. I took the fenders off temporarily to make it easier to do all this and will remount them later.

Thanks go to dfkrug, a member of this forum. Without his excellent and informative post in the "build it yourself forum" this project would never have been attempted. Here is the link to the post.http://www.tractorbynet.com/forums/build-yourself/171760-how-build-your-own-custom.html