YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever

/ YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever #1  

yukolix

Tractor
Yanmar 336D
My tractor suddenly stopped moving today when I shifted the power shift lever from 2 to 3 (w/o clutching). It stopped moving and it made a horrible grinding noise. Disengaging the clutch makes the noise stop. I pushed the power shift lever to 2, 1, neutral, changed range etc the tractor wouldn't move and the noise is there as soon as I engage the clutch. I can move the power and range shift levers freely, the transmission oil level is full. I changed the transmission oil and hydraulic filter and cleaned the suction screen about 30hrs ago. I was harrowing a sandy area with 4 diamond harrows when it happened. I own the YM336D for about 5 years and have put on 200 hrs (it has 950hrs total) moving snow, haying about 15 acres each year and moving some dirt.

There is no Yanmar dealer here. I've fixed my share of tractors but I'm new to Yanmar and I'm looking for hints. Has anyone had this happen to them?

Thanks,

Felix

/ YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever #2  
You probably stripped the spline coupler where the clutch shaft attaches to the trans.(if you are lucky)
You will have to split the tractor to replace it.If you are in high range,and shift from 2 to 3,it just slams in gear,and I always use the clutch,and let off the throttle. I don't care what they say,something is going to break if it slams into gear.

/ YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever
Thanks for the reply. It sounds like something might be stripped.

Thanks! I downloaded the parts manual, very helpful.

I split the tractor and the coupler is stripped. So I guess I'm lucky. Got to get the parts now. But first I want to check clutch wear etc.

/ YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever #7