Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Tractor
    Yanmar 336D

Default YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever

My tractor suddenly stopped moving today when I shifted the power shift lever from 2 to 3 (w/o clutching). It stopped moving and it made a horrible grinding noise. Disengaging the clutch makes the noise stop. I pushed the power shift lever to 2, 1, neutral, changed range etc the tractor wouldn't move and the noise is there as soon as I engage the clutch. I can move the power and range shift levers freely, the transmission oil level is full. I changed the transmission oil and hydraulic filter and cleaned the suction screen about 30hrs ago. I was harrowing a sandy area with 4 diamond harrows when it happened. I own the YM336D for about 5 years and have put on 200 hrs (it has 950hrs total) moving snow, haying about 15 acres each year and moving some dirt.

There is no Yanmar dealer here. I've fixed my share of tractors but I'm new to Yanmar and I'm looking for hints. Has anyone had this happen to them?

Thanks,

Felix

Gold Member
    Tractor
    Yanmar YM186d,John Deere 1050, Case 211B

Default Re: YM336 stopped moving when I shifted the power shift lever

You probably stripped the spline coupler where the clutch shaft attaches to the trans.(if you are lucky)
    You will have to split the tractor to replace it.If you are in high range,and shift from 2 to 3,it just slams in gear,and I always use the clutch,and let off the throttle. I don't care what they say,something is going to break if it slams into gear.
    JD1050,YM186D,Case211B,Homemade- sawmill & log splitter & log hauling arch trailer
    JD14T,Ford 532 balers,
    AC 80-R3,Ford 501 sickle mowers
    2.1 KW Off-grid Solar System and growing

Tractor
    Yanmar 336D

Thanks for the reply. It sounds like something might be stripped.

Elite Member
    Tractor
    Bobcat CT235