Yanmar 2000BD Not started for 2 years

/ Yanmar 2000BD Not started for 2 years #1  

bookman51

Bronze Member
Tractor
Farmall 340
I had a friend who passed away. He had a 1979 2000BD Yanmar that his widow asked me to get started. It ran two years ago but he never started it again once he got sick. I have a passing familiarity with old tractors (mostly Farmalls from the 1940s and 1950s) but I am not an accomplished mechanic and do not know much of a Yanmar diesel.

I assume the battery is dead but I will take it and try charging it up. Maybe folks would be willing to walk me through what I should do next for a Yanmar 2000BD that has not been started for a couple of years. Will diesel go bad in that period of time like gas??

At minimum, I want to do no harm to the tractor.

Any ideas as to value once it is started. It has a loader out and a small box blade and small regular blade. It is located in central Nebraska. Front tires are new. Rear tires are severely cracked but usable. No ROP so probably a gray market tractor and the tires look like rice tires. Sheet metal and paint pretty good for a 4 year old tractor. The fellow was good about servicing it.

Thanks in advance.

/ Yanmar 2000BD Not started for 2 years #2  
Around East Texas it would likely fetch in the $6000 range, likely a little higher with blades. That is in good running condition.

Unless full I would probably drain the fuel tank and start with fresh. Most wouldn't but I would pull the fuel filter, blow through it good and reinstall. Making sure all other fluid levels are ok I would then bleed the fuel system following this guide. Yanmar Tractor Fuel Filter & Bleeding Video

/ Yanmar 2000BD Not started for 2 years #3