document

/ document #2  
Very interesting.

It would appear that even if Yanmar in Japan does not support the grey market tractor, any individual intentionally or inadvertently selling a part through Yanmar of America offers support to Smiths' case. Tractors imported "at a greatly reduced price" may find the deep pockets in their parent company.

Mark

/ document #3  
Any lawyers out there, so who won that case? Either way, if I were in Yanmar's shoes I would be fighting against gray market tractors also. I bought a pond scoop from Gordon Maynard, looks like he sold the offending tractor.

/ document #4  
I'm not a lawyer , but this is my understanding of the document. Yanmar was trying to get the case thrown out ,because they contended that they did not have "such contacts with Alabama that it '"should reasonably anticipate being haled into court . Since they sold parts in Alabama through authorized Yanmar dealers who in turn sold them for grey market tractors , the court determined that they had sufficient contact & could be brought to court.

/ document #5  
Well I if I were in Yanmars shoes I would not want to be sued for wrongful death. Nothing against the widow Smith but I doubt if it is Yanmars fault that her husband was killed. I wonder also who won the Smith trial? In my case I don't think rops were required in the US in 1977? Don't know.