Engine Rebuild

/ Engine Rebuild #1  

bearcat1230

Tractor
Yanmar 1500D
Hello All,

I'm a first time poster, long time reader. I've owned my 1500D for three years and thanks to all who post that have much more knowledge and expertise than I have, I've always found the answers to my many questions somewhere on this forum. But now I need some advice. My number two piston oil ring disintegrated and number one rod bearing got chewed up as well so I'm doing a complete rebuild. The problem I have right now is I'm having the crank turned and I need the specs for the main and rod journals. I'm also going to have the crank end of one rod cleaned up due to light scoring and need that spec as well. Does anyone know what those specs are or do you have a suggestion as to where I might find them? It's a 2TR15. Or would it work to just use the new bearings for the specs? Also this is my first attempt at rebuilding any kind of engine and I would greatly appreciate any and all tips, tricks or techniques that any of you have discovered when rebuilding that would help me do a first rate job. I really know next to nothing about rebuilding engines but I'm trying to educate myself and it's turning out to be a whole lot of fun. For every hour I spend in the shed I look for 50 minutes and turn wrenches for 10 so it's going slow but it is keeping me from doing the honeydo list so that's ok with me. /forums/images/graemlins/grin.gif

Thanks Much for any help!
Neil

/ Engine Rebuild #2  
Tips:
Check all of the clearances and record the numbers. If there is anything which is out of spec, then fix it.
Take your time. Only the OEM can hurry an engine assembly and have a sucessful motor
Watch your torques. A cheap torque wrench will make a better hammer than a torque wrench.
Make sure the cylinder hone is correct.
Conduct a meticulous break in period
Change your oil and filter after the break in.
Check the head for flattness. If you mill the head, check the piston to injector clearance.