2 wheel tractor dead man switches - what is your preference?

/ 2 wheel tractor dead man switches - what is your preference? #1  

oughtsix

Bronze Member
Tractor
'58 Fordson New major, BCS 735 & 715
I recently purchased a used BCS 948 with a broken dead-mans paddle and disconnected dead-man wiring. I am putting the tractor back to factory-ish condition.

Do you appreciate the dead-man paddle/switch on your 2 wheel tractor or hate it?

I have been using a Mainland (BCS) tractor for 25 years. There were no dead-man switches back then. I installed a simple toggle switch at the handlebars that I could pull back to kill the motor if I got in trouble. I was happy with this solution. I have never had a tiller with a dead-man paddle on it before. Is it inconvenient... at least the way BCS implements it? Or do you appreciate having it? It looks like you can lock the tiller on by disengaging the clutch and pulling up the spring wire to keep the clutch disengaged which also keeps the dead-mans paddle engaged like you were holding it down??? So I can move a rock or my daughters barbie without having to kill and restart the engine????

Dead-mans switch = kills the motor if you let go of the handle / paddle. Dead-mans switch is what I have always called these safety motor kill switches.

No OSHA comments please. I am the only one that will ever be using the tractor on my small 5 acre plot.

Last edited:
   / 2 wheel tractor dead man switches - what is your preference? #2  
Wow. I've never heard these referred to as a 'tractor' before.

Dead man's clutch, dead man's switch? Doesn't matter what you call it. OSHA started requiring them in the early 80s on self-propelled tillers like this. Same rule applies to mowers and the like.

At the end of the day, appreciation is irrelevant. It is the law. Removal is futile...

/ 2 wheel tractor dead man switches - what is your preference? #3