273 Tie-rod rubber boot replacement

/ 273 Tie-rod rubber boot replacement #1  

Gregster613

Platinum Member
Southern Ca. halfway up a mountain in rural Ramona
Tractor
273 TYM. 2009 //Yardmachines 7 Speed Shift-on-the-goScotts L2048
Hi all, I sent out a private message (to a several years old thread I found in search) to ask how this was actually done, but the person I sent it to (Bkjohns) hasn't been on TBN for quite a while and I don't know if he's still with us anymore. I do hope he's a-okay.

I had a few questions about the actual replacement of these boots. I've never done it before; I know I can do the job but it's always helpful to get advice from someone who's been there & done that! So If there's anyone out there who's actually done this - will you please share the procedure? I'd like to not waste time doing something that doesn't need being done. My manual says nothing about this procedure. Parts and service just show the front end and discuss everything but the rubber boots.

It doesn't appear as if the tie rod will come "completely" out of the knuckle "without" removing the steering arm? It looks as if it might even bend the rod if the arm isn't at least loosened? Would you explain to me the procedure that you used?

I am mechanically inclined, have or can get the tools needed to do this - but a step-by-step explanation of the process would help me not waste time on items I might not have to do otherwise. Nor do I want to end up messing my toe-in up either! I'd sure appreciate it and thanks in advance! Greg

/ 273 Tie-rod rubber boot replacement
Hi all, I sent out a private message (to a several years old thread I found in search) to ask how this was actually done, but the person I sent it to (Bkjohns) hasn't been on TBN for quite a while and I don't know if he's still with us anymore. I do hope he's a-okay.