Assessment of Deere 4310

/ Assessment of Deere 4310 #1  

Wesdor

Gold Member
Tractor
JD 3720
I hope this belongs in Owning and Operating and not Buying and Pricing.

Currently I have a little over 28 hours of seat time on my new 4310 and would like to share some of my experience.

Overall, I am very impressed with this tractor. The fuel consumption has been impressive. With 24 hours of use, I had used 10 gallons of fuel and the tank was again full. With 28 hours I have most of the tank still showing on the gauge.

My dealer talked me into the e-power reverser. I was skeptical at first, but now that I have used it I am glad I listened. I didn't want the hydro due to the loss of power and also the fact that I have too many years of experience with a gear drive. I will certainly date myself with this next observation, but the foot pedal for throttle control is probably my favorite enhancement to any tractor. For most of my life I have used a tractor that only had a hand throttle. It is wonderful to be able to use my foot if needed.

I like the open platform design of the tractor although I am also accustomed to a straddle design. Both are workable, but the open platform seems to be more comfortable. I do have a complaint that I can no longer stand while driving, but I think that is true with any CUT today.

The front wheel drive is a real help. Normally I don't have it engaged, but several times in the last week I have been pulling loads that would have stopped a 2 wheel drive. I just pushed the 4 wheel button and walked away with the load. I had no intention of purchasing a 2 wheel drive, but it is great to know I was correct.