Bobcat 4045 HST, pto no neutral?

/ Bobcat 4045 HST, pto no neutral? #1  

aseiras

Tractor
BobCat CT4045
Hi,
I am new to bobcat, all my tractor before (Massey and Mahindra) had neutral PTO, meaning that when the pto is not engaged, the PTO shaft was easy to move around, so you could align the splines with the attachments to make connecting very easy.
What a surprise when I tried to connect an attachment for the first time (still connected) and I could not align the splines on the PTO shaft to connect the attachment, it took a lot of effort to rotate the tiller in order to be able to connect. What am I missing?

I tried with the tractor running, but the PTO off,. then I tried turning the tractor off (which did not make sense but still tried it) and also made super sure the HST was in neutral, both of course while on and off.

/ Bobcat 4045 HST, pto no neutral? #2  
Check this thread out regarding the same thing. It's Kioti but applies to your Bobcat too. KIOTI CK3510se PTO Output Shaft Not Free Wheeling/Free Spinning

Basically you have a wet clutch for the PTO with a spring actuated brake. Once the PTO switch is turned off, pressure is relieved on the clutch pack and the spring engages the brake.

If you don't have multiple PTO speeds, like 540 and 540E, then there isn't a lever to put the PTO in Neutral.

/ Bobcat 4045 HST, pto no neutral?
Thanks for the time and info.

I do have the 540 and 540e (on the dash) but there is no neutral lever anywhere that I can see.
I read the post you referred and I find it silly that they actually put a brake in the system with no way to relieve it.. it makes me want to return the tractor, which I might as well do since it only has 2 hours now. I am really disappointed that a new tractor has this issue when my older tractors did not.

/ Bobcat 4045 HST, pto no neutral? #4  
You can always hook up the implement, lift it a little bit and then rotate the PTO shaft at the implement.