Carpentry Of Homes,,, Nail Diameter,, and Codes?

/ Carpentry Of Homes,,, Nail Diameter,, and Codes? #1  

CADplans

Elite Member
Tractor
584 IH 4WD
I am not a carpenter, but, I nail stuff occasionally,,

I have a 21 degree pneumatic nail gun,, and I was shopping for nails this morning,,
it turns out that collated nails for a nail gun are way cheaper than loose nails,

That makes no sense to me,,

1,000 galvanized, ring shank nails for a nail gun costs about $25
222 framing nails loose in a box, (5 pounds) $14
Buying loose nails,, 5 pounds at a time, 1,000 nails would cost $63, over double the cost of the nail gun framing nails
(I think I could buy 50 pounds of nails for less,, but, I do not foresee EVER needing that many nails, so, If I do not use the nails, there is no savings)

Yes, the loose nails are 0.162" diameter, the nail gun nails are 0.120" diameter

BUT,, BOTH are called framing nails, and they are about the same length.

IMHO, the ring shank nails would be harder to pull out,, the nail gun nails also look to be glue coated,,

915FsMutlSL._SL1500_.jpg

SO, is a framing nail a framing nail, or does a code stop me from using a "framing nail gun" because the nails are too small of a diameter?

/ Carpentry Of Homes,,, Nail Diameter,, and Codes? #2  
It's not so much about pulling out as it is about sheer/breakage strength in my view. A 1/2 bolt is stronger than a 1/4 bolt, right? You want a nail diameter strong enough to resist sheer forces, but not so big as to split the boards.

"Under 渡ail size, the 菟enny size refers to a standard nail unit. Nails are measured in pennies, believed to be from older times when nails were sold by the penny. At the time, the abbreviation for pennies was d, so nail sizes are described as 2D nails, 3D nails, etc. The shank diameter and length refer to the shaft part of the nail, called the shaft, which is driven into the surface."

6D 11 0.12 2"
16D 8 0.165 3.5"

Explaining Screw and Nail Sizes