Dewalt Grease Gun - How to know tube is empty?

/ Dewalt Grease Gun - How to know tube is empty? #1  

KennK

Silver Member
Tractor
John Deere 3320
I'm relatively new to using a Dewalt cordless grease gun. Yesterday I was greasing my JD tractor & front end loader, and after finishing with the FEL fittings I realized that even though I'd run 8+ pulses on each fitting, I hadn't actually seen grease oozing out of many (most) of them as is typical. I pumped the grease gun into the air, and sure enough no grease came out. I put in a fresh tube, and finished greasing the tractor. I found myself air pumping every few fittings just to be sure, but that creates a messy paper towel in one hand.

Thinking back, with a manual grease gun, when the tube is empty, I clearly feel no trigger resistance. With the Dewalt grease gun that is not possible.

Is the only way of knowing that a Dewalt grease gun's tube is empty is a lack of grease ooze and doing air pumping? Any advice is appreciated!!

/ Dewalt Grease Gun - How to know tube is empty? #3  

4570Man

Super Star Member
Tractor
Kubota M59, Kubota L3800, Grasshopper 428D, Topkick dump truck, 3500 dump truck, 10 ton trailer, more lighter trailers.
You can hear a difference in the sound it makes. It makes more of a slapping sound when it’s empty.

/ Dewalt Grease Gun - How to know tube is empty? #4  

Hay Dude

Super Star Member
Tractor
Case-IH MX-270, Massey Ferguson 7495, Challenger MT535B, Kubota M126XTDC, Kubota F3680 & ZD331 Ram 5500 Cummins 4x4, IH 7500 4x4
I hold the flexible plastic tube and can feel a difference in the pulsing in the tube between grease and air. As 4570 said, I also notice a sound difference and a difference in the sound of the motor.

/ Dewalt Grease Gun - How to know tube is empty? #5  

RjCorazza

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L4060 Cab, ZD1211, ZD326