electric trailer brakes on tractor?

   #1  

jiminpa

Bronze Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2000
Messages
67
Location
northwest pa
Tractor
massy 35 diesel
can electric trailer brake controller be used on a tractor? reason is i have a 6x10 dump trailer i use for firewood, when it is full it is real heavy and my area is real hilly. i know my massey 35 will not stop it going down hill, but a new tractor is in the works.
 
   #2  

oldnslo

Super Member
Joined
Jan 20, 2010
Messages
5,082
Location
Northern, IL
Tractor
Branson 2400H, JD X540
I would presume yes, you just would have to figure out how to operate it since tehse are usualy tied into the brake pedal on a vehicle.
 
   #3  

mikehaugen

Elite Member
Joined
Mar 9, 2009
Messages
3,478
Location
Lee, IL
Tractor
John Deere 1070
It would be fairly easy to rig up a brake pedal switch, otherwise just use a momentary push button that could manually apply when needed.

Otherwise I believe there are hitches that will convert the surge pressure to electric, but I'm sure they're expensive.
 
   #4  

Billrog

Veteran Member
Joined
Dec 9, 2014
Messages
1,720
Location
Armstrong, British Columbia
Tractor
Kioti CK27, 580 SuperM Case Backhoe
If your tractor has break lights just follow the instructions same as you would a pick-up . Power from the battery or fuse box with a fuse and to the ground wire on the brake light switch. If this don't work then I'm wrong :)
 
   #5  

Fallon

Super Member
Joined
Aug 25, 2013
Messages
6,321
Location
Parker, CO
Tractor
Kubota L4060hstc, formerly L3200hst
Many brake controllers have a manual engage brakes button or lever. I use my lever on the controller in my truck every time I hitch up. Stop everything from 30mph or so with just trailer brakes to determine if you need to adjust them. You want it strong enough to stop with authority, but not quite strong enough to lock up the trailer tires.
 
   #6  

k0ua

Epic Contributor
Joined
Jun 28, 2009
Messages
30,503
Location
Branson, Mo.
Tractor
Kioti DK35se Hydrostat
Many new tractors have brake lights already, and a 7 pin connector on the back to hook up to your trailer. Mine has the harness, and the back part of the 7 pin plug, I would just need to buy the plug kit.
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#7  
OP
J

jiminpa

Bronze Member
Joined
Aug 1, 2000
Messages
67
Location
northwest pa
Tractor
massy 35 diesel
thanks! i got 2' extensions on the trailer,i can get over a cord of wood on it.makes it heavy!
 
   #8  

pat32rf

Veteran Member
Joined
Jul 21, 2004
Messages
1,986
Location
Bancroft, Ontario
Tractor
JD4300
Also be handy for moving fill....I don't build my trailers without brakes anymore..
 
   #9  

Soundguy

Old Timer
Joined
Mar 11, 2002
Messages
52,238
Location
Central florida
Tractor
RK 55HC,ym1700, NH7610S, Ford 8N, 2N, NAA, 660, 850 x2, 541, 950, 941D, 951, 2000, 3000, 4000, 4600, 5000, 740, IH 'C' 'H', CUB, John Deere 'B', allis 'G', case VAC
And hay rides!
 

Halftrack

Gold Member
Joined
Oct 29, 2011
Messages
394
Location
lake effect, IN
Tractor
NH TC33D, NH TZ18DA
I am assuming you have a commercially manufactured trailer that is wired and has brakes. If you are going to pull It with the MF 35, you need to decide how extensive a wiring job you want to do. If it never hits the road, I would consider splicing into the brake wire lead near the hitch along with a ground wire to a 2 conductor coupler. The tractor side leads would go to ground and to an inexpensive trailer controller with a manual activation sliding switch. The brake controller will have 3 leads in (ground, power, and a lead from the brake pedal switch, which you don't use) and the one output to your coupler. Most controllers have a digital readout and some type of adjustment setting. It needs to be mounted in a position that allows you easy access to "feather" as needed.

When that new tractor arrives, hopefully it will have the matching trailer plug and directions for wiring in the brake controller. If not, just transfer what you have to the new ride. Good luck, ht
 
 
Top