Feeding Round Bale Alfalfa Silage

/ Feeding Round Bale Alfalfa Silage #1  

Localmotion

Gold Member
Tractor
New Holland 50-86 / Siromer 204S / Case CK-28 / Cat 302.5 / Nissan L35.09 / Nissan Atleon 110
Hola all !

Just wanting some suggestions / ideas from anyone who has experience feeding round bale silage. I have plenty of experience making and feeding both clamp and baled silages in the past - but since my true farming days are behind me, I have a new problem as rather than feeding several bales per day, a single 700kg round bale will now last my limited stock and partners horses about two weeks...

Does anyone have any suggestions of how to keep a round silage bale in use for more than just a few days without it spoiling?

I have thought about cutting the wrap and then re-sealing it every day, but as more of the bale goes I can see this will be difficult not to mention expensive on tape! Alternatively I thought about maybe totally removing the wrap and net / strings and then re-ensiling the bale under plastic sheet so it is easier to access...?

Forage here in Spain is at a premium this year - but luckily I have the option of buying these silage bales at a very good prce, so really want to find a way to feed it out without spoiling if at all possible.

Any suggestions / experience greatly received :thumbsup:

/ Feeding Round Bale Alfalfa Silage #2  
Buy or build a feeder that holds the bale off the ground. I have even seen some that had a tarp over the top which kept the bale dry and being in a feeder off the ground they do not waste it.

/ Feeding Round Bale Alfalfa Silage #3  
Two weeks is way too long for silage to keep after it has been opened. Re-sealing the bale won't help much as oxygen is introduced as soon as the bale is opened.

/ Feeding Round Bale Alfalfa Silage