Ffeasibility of using a mulcher on piles of mesquite that was grubbed a few years ago

/ Ffeasibility of using a mulcher on piles of mesquite that was grubbed a few years ago #1  

tmc_31

Gold Member
Tractor
NH TN70D, NH L190
Hi all, I am new to the land clearing forum. I have spent several enjoyable evenings reading through the threads. It seems that, on this forum at least, mulching seems to be the preferred way to clear or deforest land. I am not a mulcher. I do some grubbing and raking of smaller trees and brush on smaller tracts of land with a skid steer. After reading these threads, I find myself fascinated by mulching machines.

I have a friend that had about 30 acres out here in West Texas cleared of Mesquite and Elm by grubbing with an excavator and then raked into piles with a dozer. This was done about 3 years ago. There are about 70 piles that are approximately 30'-50' in diameter and 10'-12' high. The largest trees are 20"-25" in diameter. Most are much smaller than that. His intent was to burn the piles. As some of you may know we have been in a severe drought for several years. For this reason we seem to have a perpetual burn ban going.

My friend has not asked me about getting rid of the piles. In fact, he has vowed to spend no more money on it. That said, the land is up for sale and I think it would sell quicker if the wood piles were gone. My question is, is it feasible to mulch wood that is piled like this? What would be most cost effective, a mulcher, a tub grinder, a horizontal grinder or some other kind of machine that I haven't seen or heard of before? A few weeks ago I asked one of our local rental agencies about using a mulcher for this, he said that although they rent skid steers with mulching heads, they wouldn't rent one for this purpose as the rocks in the piles would destroy the mulching head. I watched the grubbing and raking and while I am sure there some rocks in those piles, they are small and very few. This is not rocky land.