How do I clean out a stock tank with a skid steer?

/ How do I clean out a stock tank with a skid steer? #1  

tmc_31

Gold Member
Tractor
NH TN70D, NH L190
I have a small stock tank to clean out. It is about 200' in diameter. I have a NH L190 skid steer with a 1 yd bucket to work with. Can anybody give me some guidance as to how to get started with this job. It has been very dry here in West Texas. The tank looks dry in the bottom. I know that as soon as I start digging into it, it will turn into a muddy mess. I am pretty sure that there is a clay liner under the silt that I don't want to penetrate.

My skid steer has rubber tires, would it be worth while to put OTT Tracks on for this job?

I have never tried to do this before however my tractor dealer assures me that several around here have done it before successfully with a skid steer. Most of the big operators in our area seem to use a dozer or a excavator to do this work. Any advice you can give will be welcome.

Thanks,

Tim

/ How do I clean out a stock tank with a skid steer? #2  
For starters, you might check youtube for "stuck skid steer" videos to give you and idea of what not to do ;-) Some of the more fun to watch videos are the stuck big excavators!

Yes, definitely tracks, not bare tires. Still in all, I have my doubts but YMMV.

The OTT track companies have some videos of running skid steers in some pretty good slop. IDK though, maybe they had solid ground underneath the slop.

Good luck. I'll watch the thread to see what others can contribute.

/ How do I clean out a stock tank with a skid steer? #3  
I used a skid steer to clean out a pond similar in size, back in the early 80's, ( it was work my boss gave me to keep me busy)