Husqvarna 450 chainsaw maintenance and chain sharpening.

/ Husqvarna 450 chainsaw maintenance and chain sharpening. #1  

jkk04

Gold Member
Tractor
John Deere 410 backhoe, MF 30 industrial tractor, IH TD-14 dozer, New Holland TZ24DA
I am an amateur firewood guy and have been cutting wood for more than 15 years with Husqvarna 450 & 440 chainsaws without any major problems.
Because of maintenance and sharpening the chain after each cutting.
If you have any good experience on the chain saw sharpening and maintenance, please share with me.
Thanks
John

Last edited:
   / Husqvarna 450 chainsaw maintenance and chain sharpening. #2  
I am an amateur firewood guy and have been cutting wood for more than 15 years with Husqvarna 450 & 440 chainsaws without any major problems.
Because of maintenance and sharpening the chain after each cutting.
If you have any good experience on the chain saw sharpening and maintenance, please share with me.
Thanks
John

I will start by saying I have a couple of Stihl chainsaws not Husqvarnas. My good advice: Use a two cycle engine oil that is synthetic and use gasoline that has no ethanol. Do not ignore the airlifter (I have made the mistake and found it is one of the cheapest items that can keep a saw from cranking easily and running well).

As for chain sharpening: I believe in using a round file by hand. It may be slower but one has better control and get a sharper chain.

/ Husqvarna 450 chainsaw maintenance and chain sharpening. #3  
As for chain sharpening: I believe in using a round file by hand. It may be slower but one has better control and get a sharper chain.
That is debatable considering most people can't keep the correct angle or even the same angle on both sides of the chain. One side with be 30+/- degrees and the other will be 35+ degrees. File down into the tie straps until they cut the link in two at the rivet and then try to blame me for chain failures.