Is anyone here familiar with scaffolding?

/ Is anyone here familiar with scaffolding? #1  

KilroyJC

Elite Member
Tractor
1962 Case 430, 1995 Craftsman Yard Tractor/mower, 1949 South Bend 9A Lathe, WoodMizer Lx55 sawmill, Kubota KX033-4 Mini-Excavator
Good Morning!

I will have to do some major home improvement projects, most notably re-staining/sealing our log home, and I don’t want to do it on a ladder. A scaffold (or two) would make for a much easier and safer job.

I have never used scaffolding before.

-EDIT/UPDATE: Terrain and deck preclude the use of a manlift or skyjack.-

My feet need to be 18’ to 20’ above grade level to be able to access all the way to the peak of the roof.

I plan on permanently attaching eyes to the sides of the house in order to rig guys to the scaffold for stability.

What do I need to know when buying scaffolding? There are so many options. I don’t want to rent, because I will have other projects in the future where it will be used, and if I own it, I won’t feel rushed to get it back to the tool rental and maybe screw up or get careless.

thank you for any suggestions, comments etc!

Attachments

• 070048EC-7CFC-4C99-B1DC-F42BF33125F6.jpeg
    070048EC-7CFC-4C99-B1DC-F42BF33125F6.jpeg
    3.3 MB · Views: 99
Last edited:
   / Is anyone here familiar with scaffolding? #2  
As with anything else, there are varying grades at varying prices.

I pickled up two of the six foot units commonly available at Harbor Freight, Tractor Supply, Northern Tool and similar places. They work fine for me, but they're a bit heavy to move around and assemble/disassemble. They can be a bit rickety and I found the need to tie them off to something solid. They are made to be able to be stacked for more height and outriggers sets and safety rails are available.

There are far larger and more stable commercial style units, but the cost is higher too. Because of their size, I'm not sure I'd want to try and set them up alone.