Looking for Insight/Advise on Weld-On Fittings

/ Looking for Insight/Advise on Weld-On Fittings #1  

Gordon Gould

Tractor
Kubota L3010DT, Kubota M5640SUD, Dresser TD7G Dozer
I had a hard line rust out down in the bowels of the dozer so I need to replace two lines. Where they have to go and connect in there is no room for hose or compression fittings which I have managed to make work in the past. So this is my first try at weld/braze-on fittings and I am on shaky ground. The lines are 1/2" with JIC males and the hydraulic relief pressure is 2000 psi.

Just to get a feel I drilled out some 1/2" nuts and made a bronze braze, silver solder, and O/A weld with a piece of tubing. None of them were perfect but I think I can make any of them work but don't know which one would be best. One concern is the recess for the tubing in the fittings I got is only 3/16" - seems skimpy but I really don't have a clue.

On the Bronze Braze I used flux coated rod. I am pretty OK with it but only got about 75% wicking all the way to the bottom. I am thinking that if I fluxed the joint before assembly wicking to the bottom all around would happen and probably got more than 3/16" with flux coated rod alone.

The Silver Solder( braze ) was with 45% silver wire and Stay-Silv flux. I fluxed the joint before assembly. This was the first time I silver soldered anything in my life. The filler wicked down nicely and filled the joint. Then I spoiled it by trying to get a fillet on top. Filler would not flow and I probably got it to hot trying. I am thinking it would be fine to just fill the joint and quit. I should not try to make a fillet.

The O/A weld is OK but after I wire brushed it off I could see some under cut. I need to avoid that or go back and fill it.

Here they are

P1000529.JPG

P1000530.JPG

P1000532.JPG

So now I need to pick a method. I am most comfortable with the Bronze Braze but there are a lot of things I don't know so any advice would be appreciated.

gg