My Industrial Cabin Build

   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,691  

airbiscuit

Elite Member
Joined
Aug 28, 2004
Messages
4,590
Location
NW Wisconsin
Tractor
New Holland T2310, Kubota L3010 GST, New Holland TC21DA, Farmall H *** Previously - 1941 John Deere B, Shibaura SD1500, John Deere 850, Bobcat 642, New Holland 1925
My guess is that the electrician doesn't want to deal with a lot of stiff wire in a box.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,692  

kinglake

Bronze Member
Joined
Dec 14, 2009
Messages
55
Why would anybody want you to remove a bigger wire that's already in place for a smaller wire that cannot handle as much power?

You can never go wrong with a bigger wire, it's just more expensive, but if it's already in place, you can easily run a 15 amp breaker on 12 gauge wire.
Agreed. I'd have a serious conversation with your electrician before replacing any #12 with #14. I can't think of any valid reason to do so.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,694  

buckeyefarmer

Super Star Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
18,629
Location
MD
Tractor
Kubota L3940 L5030 MF205-4
Why would anybody want you to remove a bigger wire that's already in place for a smaller wire that cannot handle as much power?

You can never go wrong with a bigger wire, it's just more expensive, but if it's already in place, you can easily run a 15 amp breaker on 12 gauge wire.

Fill ratio is one reason, can put more #14 than #12 in the box. Or, put in larger box. I would not change wiring down unless absolutely necessary.

I use #12 for receptacle circuits, #14 for lighting. And I don’t mix them. I also put in more than code requires. I also don’t use switched receptacles for lights, I have ceiling fans in almost every room.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,695  

Steppenwolfe

Super Member
Joined
Apr 11, 2012
Messages
6,489
Location
The Blue Ridge Mountains
Tractor
Kubota MX5400, 1140 RTV
Eddie is correct.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,696  

buckeyefarmer

Super Star Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
18,629
Location
MD
Tractor
Kubota L3940 L5030 MF205-4
I haven’t had time to digest all the pump talk, like csv, but find it interesting. Thanks for the input. I want to learn some more for the next time.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,697  

BigBlue1

Veteran Member
Joined
Mar 14, 2017
Messages
1,721
Location
Middle MN
Tractor
JD: 2520 & x758
Why would anybody want you to remove a bigger wire that's already in place for a smaller wire that cannot handle as much power?

You can never go wrong with a bigger wire, it's just more expensive, but if it's already in place, you can easily run a 15 amp breaker on 12 gauge wire.
Likely because working with 12 in a box is more difficult.

I always try to get the widest and deepest box I can make work for the application because I hate trying to nicely stash 12ga wire into them.
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,698  

EddieWalker

Epic Contributor
Joined
May 26, 2003
Messages
23,633
Location
Tyler, Texas
Tractor
Several, all used and abused.
I agree that 12 gauge wire is harder to work with, but it's not really that much harder. Can an electrician really be so lazy that he refuses to work with 12 gauge wire?
 
   / My Industrial Cabin Build #2,700  

buckeyefarmer

Super Star Member
Joined
Jun 25, 2005
Messages
18,629
Location
MD
Tractor
Kubota L3940 L5030 MF205-4
And if you want to use some of the new WiFi electrical switches, you need the neutral in the switch box. Sometimes they will only bring the hot wire to the switch box. Not all white wires will be neutral.
 
 
Top