New to TIG, trying to weld aluminum with no success

/ New to TIG, trying to weld aluminum with no success #1  

crmorse

Tractor
Kubota L47 TLB
Hi, I'm new to TIG, I can stick and MIG pretty okay. But for this project I need to weld 2" aluminum angle stock. To get started I watched a few weld.com videos and read some stuff and then broke out some old aluminum stock to start running beads. I got this old stock from my Dad so don't know exactly what alloy it is. It files and saws like any other aluminum I've used so I don't think it's anything special.

The first night I got a whole bunch of mess and tried a whole range of settings with no luck so I came back in and rewatched the TIG videos (first watching was a while ago). Started over tonight per new learnings but still had issues. I'm asking here for help on what I doing wrong.

First is probably my welder (Lotos LTPDC2000D) which is DCEN only. I know AC is strongly preferred but from my reading, it's possible, particularly when dealing with thicker metal and my end project is 2"x2"x1/4" angle.

Setup:
I cleaned the metal pretty good with a steel wire hand brush. I snapped of the contaminated part of my 1/16" red tungsten and reground the tip. First test piece is 1/8" thick so I set my welder to 125A and 100% argon to 25 CFM.

Results:
The first piece (top) is 1"x1"x1/8" angle. I cleaned a stack of mild steel and clamped it all to my table so I would be working in flat orientation.
Weld #1 - I struck the arc and waited for the pool to form, I thought I saw it and I noticed the material was starting to form a depression so I started moving. I tried dabbing with 5% silicon aluminum rod. I think I got one dab in before the end balled (likely from me withdrawing it too far). The material started melting further, faster, and wider so I stopped.

Weld #2 - basically the same thing, I got a few successful dabs in before the rod starting "stringing" like hot mozzerella cheese when I withdrew it.