Practice Ammo, not handloaded

/ Practice Ammo, not handloaded #1  

RSKY

Veteran Member
Kentucky, West of the Lakes, South of Possum Trot.
Tractor
Kioti CK20S
I put in an order for some accessories for my new Glock 43, mags and Sticky Holster, plus practice ammo. I was frankly amazed at the difference in pricing for the complete order. Ended up getting it from a company I have never done business with before. Ordered from them because of a 10% off orders over $100 offer. Priced from at least 20 different online sellers. Prices, with shipping, varied from $168 to over $200 for the same items.

I had originally figured on getting the Winchester Forged Ammo for practice but the reviews said it was, "very dirty, and covered with lube which built up and caused jams". So I changed to Fiocchi Ammo which got universally good reviews. The Blazer Brass that I have used before got mixed reviews.

My question is. What practice ammo do you use and why?

RSKY

/ Practice Ammo, not handloaded #2  
I get whatever is on sale at Bass Pro or the online ammo vendors but stick with traditional brass/lead rounds (jacketed preferably). I just don't want to experiment with the other stuff since it could compromise the reliability of the weapon. I say "could". I'd hate to gum the weapon up with practice ammo and then have a jam when shooting a home defense round in an emergency.

/ Practice Ammo, not handloaded #3  
Lucky you, I can't get mail ordered ammo, my wondorous state has prohibited it.
I do like the Fiocchi Ammo I'm getting down I'll have to go visiting across state lines and procure a bit more.

/ Practice Ammo, not handloaded #4  
My SIL worked for an ammo manufacturer in Clarkston, WA. She could get me ammo in bulk - price per pound. Trying to remember the name. I would get 500 rounds for around $6. It was FMJ and aluminum cased. The 9mm was the FMJ and aluminum cased - the 22 stuff was normal brass cased. Neither were considered "practice".