Question about plugging loader lines off. Massey 4345.

   #1  

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
Getting the loader valve worked on so need to plug off the hydro lines. I took hoses off where they tie into the remote in the back and got 2 caps for the fitting. Question is should I have ran a hose in between the supply and return or is capping fine? This is all factory plumbed, 1070 loader on a Massey 4345. Started it up to move the tractor and it started fine, just hear a little different flow noise. No drag on tractor motor.
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#2  
OP
Hersheyfarm

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
67E3C747-1AB9-4E77-8361-775BCD3994B3.jpeg

Here’s a pic.
 
   #3  

Xfaxman

Super Star Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
12,098
Location
Guthrie, OK
Tractor
Toolcat 5610 G Bobcat V417 TORO+Loader
Put a hose between them and see if the noise goes away.
 
   #4  

Groo

Platinum Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
805
I think thatz a constant displacement pump. If it does not have a relief at the pump, you probably just caused some real damage.
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#5  
OP
Hersheyfarm

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
It ties into the the remotes block and is fed by the same circuit. If I didn稚 have a loader there would be plugs there anyway I would think.

I talked to 3 different dealers before I capped them and they seemed it was fine. But none of them left me feeling 100% confident, that why I posted here. If for some reason it was an un checked circuit wouldn稚 it have killed the motor or popped something. The sound was normal bypass hissing..I hope
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#6  
OP
Hersheyfarm

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
fullsizeoutput_314.jpeg

This is basically my loader. 28 is the plate that goes on the side of the remote block for this loader. 30 is the elbow I capped. Without the loader installed there is a plate there instead of 28, but besides all that, wouldn't the remote block be protected? Could you really have rubber hoses lead up front to the loader valve without those hoses being protected and only rely on the loader valve check?
 
   #7  

Groo

Platinum Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
805
If you can turn flow off or on to the hose you capped, it is fine.
If flow is constant, you do not want to cap it off.
If it is a second valve you capped off, you all flow will go over the relief in the main valve. That would crate tons of heat and eventually screw things up, but not hurt anything imediately. If it is the first valve you capped off, the fluid would have no place to go save for wrecking the pump or blowing out the line.
 
   #8  

LD1

Epic Contributor
Joined
Apr 30, 2008
Messages
21,013
Location
Central Ohio
Tractor
Kubota MX5100
Hard to tell with the limited pics and diagram.

When you say without a loader installed, there would likely be a plate where #28 is......odds are it wouldnt be just a flat block off plate. Rather a plate that combined the two passages.
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#9  
OP
Hersheyfarm

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
So I got ahold of the main service guy at the dealer I bought from. He’s a Massey guru. So I need a hose between the 2 and the main check was protecting the pump. And the plate that goes on when not using a loader has a return port. The main check is set at about 2700psi so the pump was constantly at that pressure for the few minutes I ran it. Hydraulics are simple until you start messing with stuff... Thanks guys.
 

Xfaxman

Super Star Member
Joined
Feb 8, 2013
Messages
12,098
Location
Guthrie, OK
Tractor
Toolcat 5610 G Bobcat V417 TORO+Loader
Thanks for confirming my thought, posted in #3.

What you are calling the main check valve is the pressure relief valve.
 
  
  • Thread Starter
#11  
OP
Hersheyfarm

Hersheyfarm

Platinum Member
Joined
Sep 13, 2009
Messages
632
Location
NE ky
No ideal why I called it a check valve..

You would have been post #2 if I could have figured out uploading a pic from my phone. For some reason my iphone does not like the desk top version of this site.

My initial thought was having an open line dumping into the sump would rob the hydraulic flow and that the remotes would act as the return. Then the talk of damage to the pump put me in panic mode. I put a gauge on after putting hose on and I’m actually getting 3200psi, not 2700. That’s if my tsc gauge is calibrated correct.
 

Groo

Platinum Member
Joined
Nov 5, 2008
Messages
805
3200 psi is fairly high for a gear pump, but some can handle maybe 4000. Most tractors I've seen specs for call for less than 3000 psi. Most new implements I've seen use cylinders rated for 3000psi.
Might want to turn it down if you trust the gauge.
 
 
Top