TC29: how I added glow plug button and sorted out timer relay

/ TC29: how I added glow plug button and sorted out timer relay #1  

tmeric7

Bronze Member
Tractor
New Holland TC29DA, Allis Chalmers B, Cub Cadet 102
My TC29DA has cranked longer to start with the cold, plus some erratic behavior at the glow plug light. This post is to share how I worked though things.

I replaced the glow plugs in the process. For documentation, my New Holland P/N is SBA185366190. I paid $30 for eBay replacements and received NGK 6628 (Y-107V). When I removed the old, they were NGK 0424 (Y701RS). They appear the same. New ones had 1 ohm resistance. Old ones has 0.8 ohm. Maybe didn't need replaced, but small expense.

Glow plug button

When the key switch is turned to the ignition (on) position, the glow plugs run for 4-5 second on my model, controlled by a timer. I wanted a push button to add preheat time. I studied the wiring diagram, which I attached (bottom) but the pin number are hard to read on my copy and scanning makes it worse... sorry. Best to have your own if attempting. The glow plug power relay #3 sends current to the glow plugs and a micro-relay that powers the dash light. +12V comes into the relay for this purpose at pin 30 (HM4), and is there when the battery is connected. The switch is closed, sending current out pin 87 to the glow plugs (HM9) and the light micro-relay (HM99), by a voltage drop across pins 86 and 85 (left side of diagram). Turning the switch to "ignition" or "start" puts +12V at pin 86 (upper-right), so the glow plugs are triggered by sending ground to pin 85 (lower left). This is the job of the glow plug timer relay, and it does so under two circumstances: (a) for several seconds when pin 4,C is energized by "ignition", and (b) when pin 5,B is energized by "start."