Tundra vs F350: how I made my choice

/ Tundra vs F350: how I made my choice #1  

texasjohn

Tractor
Kubota Grand L5030HSTC
Well... bet that title got your attention. I just thought I'd give my TBN community my decision process since there were so many of your posts gave information to me that assisted me in my decision. This is my pickup purchase path.

I have a gas F35O that is 20 years old, manual transmission which no longer does what I need.. I fear another breakdown, AC and heater don't work, it's been beat up as a ranch truck. It's time has come.

Everybody says that vehicle prices, new and used, are REALLY down at present. I can confirm that... read on.

I studied hard on a 08 Tundra (4x4, double cab, standard bed, 5.7L, 6 speed auto, cloth bucket seats, cold kit, power heated mirrors, tow package, carpets, skid plate, step assist, etc.) and fell in love with it because of its 401 ft lbs of torque and reported actual mileage of 19 or so on the road.

Six super reliable Toyota vehicles in the family over the years, 4 still in service (one my son rolled, the other my MIL took to 300,000 mi.), have won me brand loyalty. Towing capacity of 10,300 lbs bumper hitch and about 13,000 for a gooseneck was reported by many of you as realistic. There are even numerous reports of folks admittedly overloading the vehicle either in the bed or via trailer, and it behaving reasonably under those conditions. No current Tundra owner indicated they were unhappy with their vehicle, but rather the opposite.

Using the net, I found I became just as expert as a salesman at locating appropriately equipped vehicles. Sending emails to the internet salesmen actually worked superbly... my search ranged from Dallas thru Austin and down to Corpus Christi. These internet folks WILL deal over the net and phone... much more pleasant experience than taking time at the dealership, once you have kicked the tires and given a test drive.