What PSI should be in my well expansion tank?

/ What PSI should be in my well expansion tank? #1  

plowhog

Elite Member
Tractor
Massey 1710 / 1758, Ventrac 4500Y / TD9
I noticed the kitchen faucet was pulsing water, and pressure seemed a little low. Usual house pressure is 60psi but I don't know what it is right now as my gauge failed.

I checked the expansion tank at the well. It had about 45psi in it. So I pumped it up to 60 psi and it seems to have fixed the pulsation problem. Is there any rule of thumb about how much pressure to run?

/ What PSI should be in my well expansion tank? #2  
2 lbs under the lower setting on your pressure switch. So if the switch is a 30/50, tank should be set at 28 lbs.

/ What PSI should be in my well expansion tank?
I'm a complete novice when it comes to well pump equipment. I presume I can find a pressure switch among the various things plumbed in the well house. Do they typically have a rating on them, or do you have to evaluate it somehow?

/ What PSI should be in my well expansion tank? #4  
I'm a complete novice when it comes to well pump equipment. I presume I can find a pressure switch among the various things plumbed in the well house. Do they typically have a rating on them, or do you have to evaluate it somehow?

The pressure switch is a little box, about 2 inches square, that should be plumbed near the well pump. These is a screw that holds the top on. Remove the screw and take the top off. Info including rating should be listed under the cover. Do not tamper with any of the screws in the switch if you are not familiar with it. If you set the pressure in the tank 2 lbs under the switch rating and the well still cycles, you probably have a bad switch. It is very easy to replace. New switch is about $25. Google "pressure switch replacement" and watch it on YouTube. Very easy. Good luck and let us know how it turns out.

/ What PSI should be in my well expansion tank? #5