Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered

/ Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #1  

TNhobbyfarmer

Veteran Member
Tractor
Kubota L3430 Polaris Ranger 500
Pros and cons of each? I have never used a tractor driven one. How does the power compare? There is a one year old TSC County Line tractor powered one for sale on local Craigslist $500. Looking for opinions.

/ Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #2  
I was recently asking the same question about a 3-pt splitter on a L3800. general concensus is they're slow. But if you're only doing occasional splitting, it might be good enough.

Check the hydraulic flow specs on your L3430, that might determine whether it's worth it or not.

/ Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #3  
I have no experience with Splitters on tractors but I do have a 3 pt Backhoe for my 3510 Branson.
I only have to run the tractor at 1200-1400 rpm for the hoe to work great.
I can't imagine a small engine with pump being faster unless it is a 2 stage pump. And even then. ??

/ Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #4  
The power is determined by the psi of the system and size of the cylinder, so that would pretty much stay the same.

IF it has a big enough cylinder to give it some power, then the tractor hydraulic remotes just don't flow enough gpm to have speed, so the ram IS pretty slow, although it may be fast enough for you?

Buying one that has a separate hydraulic pump on the pto makes a HUGE difference and has more than enough power AND speed.

SR

/ Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #5  
   / Wood splitter powered by tractor hydraulics vs small engine powered #6  
when I first built my log splitter I pande it three point and tractor powered, and fixed up a lever to run the tractor hydraulic valve, worked well,