Would a Switch to sisal twine invite problems?

/ Would a Switch to sisal twine invite problems? #1  

jmhinpa

Tractor
NH 75 Workmaster
Hi, I’m new to baling hay (always worked the pick up crew side of things in previous baling experiences) and to this group. Bought a NH 565 baler from a reputable dealer of used equipment, who told me to use only 9600-170 poly twine. I really dislike the poly twine as it ends up everywhere and doesn’t degrade well. Point well taken in previous thread on this site that many buyers don’t want poly twine. Found some Lincoln 9000-190 sisal twine online. What issues might I encounter if I switch to sisal? Would I need to make adjustments to baler settings? Is it that big of a difference in performance? The seller probably won’t support the baler if I switch and I know nothing about troubleshooting. Have manual , reading. If anyone has advice, please share.

/ Would a Switch to sisal twine invite problems? #2  
Hi. I like plastic and that's what I use. However, it's just personal preference. If you want to use sisal, I'd bet that your baler will tie it and not miss a beat. Buy a couple balls and try it. You won't damage anything. And I don't think you'll need to adjust anything either.

Just my 2 cents . . . Good luck with it.

/ Would a Switch to sisal twine invite problems? #3  
I meant to ask, doesn't TSC and Rural King carry sisal string? I haven't noticed because I wasn't looking for it, but they always have plastic. Just assumed they'd carry sisal too.

Just answered my own question. They both carry it. Don't know why you'd want to order it online. Buy a couple balls and try it out.

Last edited:
   / Would a Switch to sisal twine invite problems? #4