Member of the Month: Desert Bred

Desert Bred

Your Name: Desert Bred

Location: Goodyear, AZ

Post Count: 204 (#2593 of all-time)

How long have you been a member of
Since around September 2013.

What do you like best about
The diversity of its members, their collective intelligence and willingness to share that knowledge to help others. Also being able to see the projects that other members have or have had and how they tackled their issues.

What type of tractor do you own?
I own a 25hp Chinese tractor that I bought from auction. It came without a manual. ‘CKC’ is written on the side of it but Greg_G (member) explained that it is made by Shandong in China and have assumed many different names.

Digging up & relocating orchard trees.

What do you enjoy most about tractors?
How many uses they have.

How often do you use your tractor?
Right now, everyday.

Tell us about your property:
Right now we have a little over an acre zoned for agriculture.

What sort of modifications or customization have you done to your tractor?
I have never welded before so I ended up learning how to fabricate and modify two sub-frames for 2 loaders that I fit to the tractor. It is a 25hp tractor, and it sits up high so finding a loader that actually fits it has been a challenge. The first loader was a MF216 loader that came off of a 22 or 23hp Hinimoto or something similar. On my tractor it was just too small so I found a Davis loader 8D14 from the 50’s or 60’s. It’s much heavier than the MF but it fits like a charm.

photo(9)What sort of tools, attachments or equipment do you use with your tractor on a regular basis?
Right now I’m relocating some trees in our orchard. The trees are 6ft tall. Instead of using a tree spade, I’m using a 3-pt backhoe attachment to dig a square around each tree, and some pallet forks to pull out the square of dirt which includes the rootball and the tree.

Do you keep livestock?
Yes, we have llamas, goats, chickens, and cats.

What’s something most TractorByNet members don’t know about you?
Before moving here, I was employed in the music industry in Bologna and Rome Italy, then Los Angeles. My wife and I decided to raise our children in a more organic environment.

What are some of your other hobbies?
Being an at home dad, classical music.

Scroll to Top